Parliament Website

United Nations Resolution For Diabetes

EDM number 41 in 2007-08, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 06/11/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health education and preventive medicine and Health services.

That this House supports the International Diabetes Federation's Unite for Diabetes campaign, which aims to highlight the alarming rise of diabetes worldwide; notes with concern new data showing that more than 230 million people have been diagnosed with diabetes and that the number of people living with diabetes is expected to grow to 350 million in less than 20 years if action is not taken; further notes that diabetes is one of the major causes of premature death worldwide, as every 10 seconds a person dies from diabetes-related causes and death rates are predicted to rise by 25 per cent. over the next decade; further notes that World Health Organisation research predicts that the condition could reduce life expectancy globally for the first time in 200 years and that almost six per cent. of the world's adult population now live with diabetes; and encourages Government support for a United Nations Resolution on diabetes, to secure the Resolution on World Diabetes Day on 14th November 2007.

This motion has been signed by a total of 65 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Adrian Sanders06/11/2007TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George06/11/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Evan Harris06/11/2007Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell06/11/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Williams06/11/2007CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley07/11/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Holmes07/11/2007ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch07/11/2007HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell07/11/2007East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/11/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Taylor07/11/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Desmond Turner07/11/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mark Hunter07/11/2007CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis08/11/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies08/11/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Leech08/11/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/11/2007StroudLabourSigned
John Pugh08/11/2007SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake08/11/2007Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed08/11/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway12/11/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Sandra Gidley12/11/2007RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams12/11/2007ConwyLabourSigned
David Simpson13/11/2007Upper BannDUPSigned
David Heath13/11/2007Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke13/11/2007Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey13/11/2007Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan13/11/2007FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Jabez Foster13/11/2007Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/11/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell13/11/2007PudseyLabourSigned
Tim Farron13/11/2007Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn14/11/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Phil Willis14/11/2007Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea14/11/2007South AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton14/11/2007GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/11/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/11/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson15/11/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams15/11/2007Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer19/11/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
John Austin19/11/2007Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Roger Williams19/11/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson19/11/2007East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam20/11/2007OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins21/11/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/11/2007Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross22/11/2007TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson28/11/2007StrangfordDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds28/11/2007Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/11/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey03/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing04/12/2007Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nigel Evans06/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Bob Spink10/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSigned
Simon Hughes13/12/2007North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley13/12/2007Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Vincent Cable07/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
John Bercow08/01/2008BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Menzies Campbell14/01/2008North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz14/01/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Julie Morgan17/01/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson20/05/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Paul Rowen06/11/2008RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David MarshallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.