Parliament Website

Shop Local Campaign

EDM number 629 in 2007-08, proposed by Bob Russell on 07/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Service industries and Small businesses.

That this House congratulates the East Anglian Daily Times on its Shop Local Campaign; notes that it has already attracted the support of more than 150 shops and other businesses representing a wide cross-section of traders in Essex and Suffolk; welcomes the promotion of the importance of local growers, producers, retailers and other businesses to the well-being of the local economy, and for their survival and prosperity in the face of the growing dominance of national companies and with it the creeping advance of clone town Britain with the loss of distinctive local identities; recognises that if local businesses are successful, then local economies thrive, creating the conditions to nurture more new businesses and create more jobs; urges other communities across the country to establish their own campaigns using the shop local concept promoted by the East Anglian Daily Times; and calls on the Government to introduce measures which support and stimulate local businesses and the interests of local economies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Bob Russell07/01/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Spink07/01/2008Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton08/01/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/01/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
David Drew08/01/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock08/01/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones08/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/01/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ann Cryer08/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton08/01/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
John Leech08/01/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter08/01/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis09/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Lee Scott09/01/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson09/01/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Evans09/01/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen09/01/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/01/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
David Simpson09/01/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Mark Durkan09/01/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea10/01/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Derek Conway10/01/2008Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds10/01/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Phil Willis10/01/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott10/01/2008Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
John Horam14/01/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
Roger Williams14/01/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell15/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross15/01/2008TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes16/01/2008North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams16/01/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lorely Burt17/01/2008SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington21/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Malcolm Bruce29/01/2008GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.