Parliament Website

Allegations Of Racist Abuse In Immigration Detention

EDM number 635 in 2007-08, proposed by Diane Abbott on 07/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Immigration and Racial discrimination.

That this House is alarmed by the recent report commissioned by the Border and Immigration Agency into allegations of racism in immigration detention centres; notes that investigations at immigration detention centres across the country found a catalogue of racist incidents and mistreatment of detainees; further notes that the report finds internal inquiries taking place at some centres to be inadequate; and calls on the Government to take urgent action to ensure staff working in these centres are fully trained in race relations and to create a robust system for internal inspection at the centres.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Diane Abbott07/01/2008Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Mark Durkan07/01/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew Dismore08/01/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton08/01/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Drew08/01/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew George08/01/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech08/01/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/01/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty08/01/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson08/01/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/01/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/01/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz09/01/2008Leicester EastLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell10/01/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Vincent Cable10/01/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/01/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/01/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Neil Gerrard14/01/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith15/01/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Harry Cohen15/01/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Virendra Sharma15/01/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/01/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael17/01/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham21/01/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson21/01/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington21/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady22/01/2008South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Linda Riordan22/01/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Andy Reed24/01/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Sarah Teather31/03/2008Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Christopher Huhne13/11/2008EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.