Parliament Website

Dangerous Dogs

EDM number 640 in 2007-08, proposed by Martin Linton on 07/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Animals and Anti-social behaviour.

That this House is alarmed at the number of incidents involving dogs dangerously out of control; urges local authorities to make full use of existing powers, including anti-social behaviour orders and tenancy conditions, to deter irresponsible owners from using their dogs to intimidate the public; calls on the Government to issue new guidelines on dealing with dangerous dogs, to set a minimum age for dog ownership and to consider the proposals from the Dangerous Dogs Act Study Group for a new Control of Dogs Act with powers to issue control orders backed by powers for dangerous dogs to be destroyed, controlled, muzzled or re-homed, for owners to be disqualified from having charge of a dog on pain of compensation, fines or imprisonment for a procedure for owners to appeal, and for a database to be established of dogs and owners found in breach of the act; but regards as impractical any proposal to take action against specific breeds of dogs or to re-introduce licences.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Martin Linton07/01/2008BatterseaLabourProposed
David Drew08/01/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley08/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale08/01/2008MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton08/01/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore08/01/2008HendonLabourSeconded
Angela Smith08/01/2008Sheffield, HillsboroughLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil08/01/2008Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
David Taylor08/01/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
John Austin08/01/2008Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Charlotte Atkins08/01/2008Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/01/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean08/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson08/01/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan08/01/2008Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Mark Williams09/01/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson09/01/2008East AntrimDUPSigned
Rudi Vis09/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Borrow09/01/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Nigel Evans09/01/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Frank Cook09/01/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/01/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice09/01/2008PendleLabourSigned
Stephen Williams10/01/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis10/01/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Conway10/01/2008Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/01/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Lynda Waltho14/01/2008StourbridgeLabourSigned
Roger Williams14/01/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Dari Taylor14/01/2008Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard14/01/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Harry Cohen14/01/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/01/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma15/01/2008Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson15/01/2008Gateshead East and Washington WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell15/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Heyes15/01/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
David Simpson16/01/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Claire Curtis-Thomas16/01/2008CrosbyLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster16/01/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Bill Etherington21/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Keetch22/01/2008HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins29/01/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Hamilton07/02/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Dawn ButlerUnknownWithdrawn
David MarshallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.