Parliament Website


EDM number 650 in 2007-08, proposed by Kelvin Hopkins on 08/01/2008.

That this House expresses its serious concern about the chaos on Britain's railways over the New Year period and its impact on many thousands of passengers; considers that these problems derive essentially from the privatisation and consequent fragmentation of the railway industry and the jungle of associated contracting and sub-contracting; notes that the costs of trackwork have multiplied since privatisation with these extra costs amounting to billions of pounds paid for by passengers through high fares and by massively increased taxpayer subsidies; recalls the comments of the former railway regulator that British Rail (BR) `worked miracles on a pittance' and had handed over the railways to the privateers `in good order'; further recalls the Catalyst report which found that despite decades of under-funding BR had the highest level of productivity in Europe; and concludes therefore that Britain's railways should now be returned to public ownership and reintegrated into a single industry with direct in-house employment at every level.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Kelvin Hopkins08/01/2008Luton NorthLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn08/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer08/01/2008KeighleyLabourSeconded
John McDonnell08/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Drew08/01/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Michael Clapham08/01/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Taylor08/01/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Ian Gibson08/01/2008Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/01/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell08/01/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kate Hoey08/01/2008VauxhallLabourSigned
Bob Russell08/01/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis09/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/01/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/01/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore09/01/2008HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/01/2008GowerLabourSigned
Eric Martlew09/01/2008CarlisleLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle09/01/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
David Simpson09/01/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Prentice09/01/2008PendleLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/01/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones10/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Janet Dean10/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Dai Davies10/01/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Neil Gerrard14/01/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Robert Wareing14/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
David Heyes15/01/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Linda Riordan15/01/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/01/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Colin Burgon16/01/2008ElmetLabourSigned
John Pugh17/01/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tony Lloyd21/01/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington21/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/01/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Anderson28/01/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins29/01/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Hamilton07/02/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Jon TrickettUnknownWithdrawn
David MarshallUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.