Parliament Website

Global Moratorium On The Use Of The Death Penalty

EDM number 787 in 2007-08, proposed by Alistair Carmichael on 25/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Crime, Death and United Nations.

That this House welcomes the United Nations General Assembly resolution vote on a moratorium on the use of the death penalty passed on 18th December 2007; further welcomes the support on this matter from 104 countries; notes that the UN remains an essential forum for highlighting international trends in opinion regarding human rights; observes with concern that 54 countries, including China, Iran and the United States, continue to support the use of the death penalty despite the UN General Assembly's third committee concluding that there is no conclusive evidence of the death penalty having deterrent value and that miscarriages of justice brought about by implementation of the death penalty are irreversible and irreparable; encourages the Government to call upon all countries which did not vote in favour of this resolution to make public their opposition to the death penalty; and further encourages the Government to maintain pressure on the international community to pursue the ultimate aim of abolishing the death penalty in all countries worldwide.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alistair Carmichael25/01/2008Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratProposed
Stephen Pound25/01/2008Ealing NorthLabourSeconded
John Bercow25/01/2008BuckinghamConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Oaten28/01/2008WinchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew28/01/2008StroudLabourSeconded
Sandra Osborne28/01/2008Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
David Taylor28/01/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Mark Fisher28/01/2008Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Ann Cryer28/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale28/01/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper28/01/2008Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Paul Holmes28/01/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing29/01/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Jim Devine29/01/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Hunter29/01/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams29/01/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech29/01/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wilshire29/01/2008SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Michael Weir29/01/2008AngusScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Dismore29/01/2008HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton29/01/2008GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed29/01/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones30/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell30/01/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Edward Davey30/01/2008Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean30/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/01/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis30/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies30/01/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/01/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Borrow31/01/2008South RibbleLabourSigned
Paul Flynn31/01/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty31/01/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn31/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/02/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson01/02/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Mark Williams01/02/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Martlew04/02/2008CarlisleLabourSigned
Albert Owen04/02/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
Betty Williams04/02/2008ConwyLabourSigned
David Heyes05/02/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/02/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan05/02/2008HalifaxLabourSigned
Willie Rennie05/02/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Jabez Foster06/02/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith07/02/2008Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington07/02/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alex Salmond18/02/2008Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Vincent Cable18/02/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Joe Benton19/02/2008BootleLabourSigned
Jo Swinson20/02/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd21/02/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
John Battle21/02/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Hywel Williams25/02/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson26/02/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd04/03/2008Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Julie Morgan13/06/2008Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/06/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ann McKechinUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.