Parliament Website

Recycling In Schools

EDM number 1647 in 2008-09, proposed by Martin Horwood on 11/06/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Schools and Waste management.

That this House notes the important role recycling has in the sustainable use of resources and in protecting the environment; further notes that, according to the Waste Resources and Action Programme (WRAP), 78 per cent. of schools' waste could be easily recycled or composted; further notes the Department for Children, Schools and Families target to ensure that all schools are sustainable schools by 2020; is concerned that the financial implications of facilitating recycling mean straining school resources and often deterring schools from recycling at all; is further concerned by a UK Youth Parliament survey which found that 73 per cent. of councils do not provide a full recycling service for schools for free, that a third of local authorities classify schools' recycling waste as trade waste, despite Government recommendations, and that many councils that do offer the service said they may need to start charging in the future; supports the UK Youth Parliament campaign to make recycling in schools free and compulsory; and believes that recycling in schools is something local authorities need to prioritise as a necessary cost and work in partnership with schools to provide free recycling facilities and collections.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Martin Horwood11/06/2009CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Martin Salter11/06/2009Reading WestLabourSeconded
Tim Yeo11/06/2009South SuffolkConservativeSeconded
Tim Farron11/06/2009Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Simon Hughes11/06/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Annette Brooke11/06/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones11/06/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/06/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Martin Caton12/06/2009GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore12/06/2009HendonLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey15/06/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Mark Hunter15/06/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock15/06/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn15/06/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/06/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Janet Dean15/06/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer15/06/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Colin Breed15/06/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty15/06/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle15/06/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes15/06/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders15/06/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea16/06/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Mark Durkan16/06/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Keith Vaz16/06/2009Leicester EastLabourSigned
John Leech16/06/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies16/06/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/06/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Williams17/06/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis17/06/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew17/06/2009StroudLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Simpson17/06/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell17/06/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Rudi Vis19/06/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/06/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George22/06/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams22/06/2009ConwyLabourSigned
John Hemming22/06/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
William Cash23/06/2009StoneConservativeSigned
David Borrow23/06/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
Mark Williams23/06/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2009GlenrothesLabourSigned
Chris Mullin24/06/2009Sunderland SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/06/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley25/06/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth30/06/2009CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson30/06/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan01/07/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Bill Etherington02/07/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Rowen02/07/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell06/07/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott06/07/2009Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin09/07/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Nick Harvey13/07/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson14/07/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Susan Kramer27/10/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake09/11/2009Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.