Parliament Website

Financial Privilege And Business Rate Supplements Bill

EDM number 1756 in 2008-09, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 26/06/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Shipping and Taxation.

That this House deprecates the Government's decision to invoke financial privilege to prevent the House of Lords returning its sensible amendments to the Business Rate Supplements Bill which would have prevented retrospective punishment of port businesses for the incompetence and failures of the Valuation Office Agency; views this pathetic and petty decision not as an invocation of the spirit of Lloyd George to protect the powers of the Commons but as a cowardly attempt to conceal the disastrous consequences of the massive retrospective rate bills the Government is imposing on the ports and its failure to manage the Valuation Office Agency and to prevent it punishing ports; and very much regrets that in doing so the Government and this House lose the opportunity to right a serious wrong and protect Britain's ports from the insolvencies, job losses and diversion of trade and investments which will result.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Austin Mitchell26/06/2009Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Ian Cawsey26/06/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones29/06/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins30/06/2009Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton30/06/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Joe Benton30/06/2009BootleLabourSeconded
David Drew30/06/2009StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer01/07/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/07/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell01/07/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Hamilton03/07/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
George Howarth06/07/2009Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle06/07/2009Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Frank Field06/07/2009BirkenheadLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley06/07/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Derek Wyatt06/07/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/07/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jane Kennedy13/07/2009Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Alan Simpson14/07/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Rowen14/07/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.