Parliament Website

Local Government Pay Negotiations

EDM number 1867 in 2008-09, proposed by David Anderson on 13/07/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Local government and Pay.

That this House notes that the Local Government Association (LGA) has not responded to revised proposals made by the trade unions on 21 May to end the dispute over the 0.5 per cent. 2009-10 pay offer to local government workers; further notes that the 2009-10 settlement in Buckinghamshire County Council, where the Leader is also the Leader of the LGA's majority group, is 2.25 per cent. and that the settlements in other councils which have opted out of National Joint Council for Local Government Services negotiations range from 1 per cent. to 4.8 per cent.; and therefore calls on the majority group on the LGA to come to a swift and commensurate settlement for local government workers on the lines of the revised package that was tabled on 21 May.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

David Anderson13/07/2009BlaydonLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore14/07/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin14/07/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
David Taylor14/07/2009North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Martin Caton14/07/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson14/07/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones14/07/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/07/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis15/07/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies15/07/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Robert Wareing15/07/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Peter Bottomley15/07/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Fisher15/07/2009Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
John Cummings15/07/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/07/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Colin Burgon15/07/2009ElmetLabourSigned
David Heyes15/07/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn15/07/2009JarrowLabourSigned
David Drew15/07/2009StroudLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard16/07/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Betty Williams16/07/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/07/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/07/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/07/2009Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins16/07/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt20/07/2009CrawleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean21/07/2009BurtonLabourSigned
David Hamilton21/07/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Katy Clark21/07/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech21/07/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/10/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Frank Cook13/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/10/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.