Parliament Website

World Kidney Day 2010

EDM number 1064 in 2009-10, proposed by Evan Harris on 10/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House welcomes World Kidney Day 2010 which raises awareness of kidney disease among the general population and seeks to publicise the link between kidney disease and diabetes; is alarmed that kidney disease is common and increasing; notes that diabetic kidney disease remains the single most common cause of renal failure; further notes that kidney failure and diabetes can lead to an elevated risk of heart disease; further welcomes the introduction of the NHS Health Check which supports the early detection of kidney disease; urges the Government to build upon these measures through a public health campaign highlighting the importance of kidneys; applauds the efforts of kidney patients, their families and friends, clinicians and healthcare professionals who have worked hard to highlight the issues associated with kidney disease and spread the important message of World Kidney Day; expresses its concern that an estimated 13,000 people die from kidney disease annually in this country; further notes that in the UK numbers of adults receiving dialysis treatment for kidney failure is increasing every year by eight per cent.; strongly believes that patient choice is the key to ensuring the best possible quality of life for patients; and calls on the Government to investigate ways by which to improve levels of patient choice in renal services.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Evan Harris10/03/2010Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratProposed
Janet Dean10/03/2010BurtonLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan11/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Lee Scott11/03/2010Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
David Drew11/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew George11/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon12/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell12/03/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Colin Breed12/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing15/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton15/03/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty15/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Mark Hunter16/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/03/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty16/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice16/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Michael Weir17/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Francis17/03/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds17/03/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea17/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden17/03/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
David Simpson17/03/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Martin Caton17/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy18/03/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Hemming18/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey18/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss18/03/2010North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim McGovern22/03/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell24/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Shona McIsaac07/04/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.