Parliament Website

Bank Holidays And St George's Day

EDM number 1083 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Hancock on 15/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Employment.

That this House acknowledges that a Bank Holiday on St George's Day would be a great opportunity for all English people regardless of colour or religion to recognise what binds them together instead of concentrating on differences; realises that there is growing demand in England for a day of national celebration; notes that Northern Ireland has had a Bank Holiday on St Patrick's Day since 1903, the Scottish Parliament has introduced a voluntary Bank Holiday on St Andrew's Day and the Welsh Assembly agrees that St David's Day should be a holiday; further notes that organisations such as the St George Unofficial Bank Holiday saw a 300 per cent. increase in the number of St George events during 2009; points out that there is a danger that England could be left behind without an opportunity to celebrate its rich culture and heritage; and supports a Bank Holiday being held in England on 23 April or the nearest Friday to that date.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Lindsay Hoyle15/03/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Andrew Pelling15/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Bob Spink15/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Bob Russell15/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Dobbin16/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Mark Hunter16/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Graham Stringer16/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Holmes16/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
William McCrea17/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Keith Vaz17/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Stephen Williams17/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason17/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Albert Owen18/03/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Andrew Rosindell22/03/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham24/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds24/03/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland24/03/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh25/03/2010Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Patrick Hall25/03/2010BedfordLabourSigned
Martin Horwood25/03/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham29/03/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones29/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd30/03/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Mann30/03/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton30/03/2010Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Roger Berry30/03/2010KingswoodLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/04/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
John Grogan06/04/2010SelbyLabourSigned
Norman Baker06/04/2010LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell06/04/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Tom Watson06/04/2010West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Anne Main06/04/2010St AlbansConservativeSigned
David Heyes07/04/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.