Parliament Website

Kerrie Wooltorton And The Mental Capacity Act

EDM number 167 in 2009-10, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 23/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Medical ethics and Mental health.

That this House records with deep regret the tragic death of Kerrie Wooltorton, who attempted suicide by swallowing anti-freeze and handed a letter to hospital staff stating that she did not want to be saved; notes the great distress of her parents who informed doctors that she was suffering from a mental disorder causing bouts of severe depression and begged that she should be resuscitated; further notes they were informed that the staff were frightened to do so because under the Mental Capacity Act they could be charged with assault; further notes that 26-year-old Kerrie died the following day and that many hon. Members wish to offer their deep sympathies to her parents in their grief; recalls that civil servants responsible for drafting the Bill, Government officials and hon. Members were repeatedly warned that this was exactly the kind of case which could result from the law; further notes that among those who gave warnings were John Finnis, Professor of Law and Legal Philosophy, Oxford University, Dr Phillip Howard, Consultant and Senior Lecturer in General and Emergency Medicine and Jamie Bogle, Barrister in Family Law; and urges the Government to ensure that now that hon. Members have had an opportunity to see the results of the relative clauses in the Act, they should be allowed a review to consider the manner of its working and whether it requires amending.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Iris Robinson23/11/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Jim Dobbin23/11/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Ann Widdecombe23/11/2009Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSeconded
Ann Winterton23/11/2009CongletonConservativeSeconded
David Crausby23/11/2009Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Geraldine Smith23/11/2009Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle23/11/2009ChorleyLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock23/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Joe Benton23/11/2009BootleLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley23/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis23/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nicholas Winterton23/11/2009MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Brian Binley23/11/2009Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Philip Davies23/11/2009ShipleyConservativeSigned
Greg Hands23/11/2009Hammersmith and FulhamConservativeSigned
Mark Pritchard23/11/2009The WrekinConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan23/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Pugh23/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Iddon23/11/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins23/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
William McCrea23/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/11/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Cummings23/11/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean23/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew23/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
David Amess23/11/2009Southend WestConservativeSigned
Alan Meale24/11/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
John Battle24/11/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham25/11/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Desmond Turner25/11/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Shepherd30/11/2009Aldridge-BrownhillsConservativeSigned
Chris McCafferty01/12/2009Calder ValleyLabourWithdrawn
David Simpson02/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.