Parliament Website

Local Housing Allowance

EDM number 186 in 2009-10, proposed by Sarah Teather on 24/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Housing benefits and Incomes and poverty.

That this House strongly opposes the Government's plan to scrap excess payments to local housing allowance claimants where their rent is lower than the rate of the allowance; expresses alarm that this plan would see some of the poorest families in the country up to £780 a year worse off; believes that the withdrawal of excess payments would not result in savings for the Government because tenants would have no incentive to choose cheaper properties and landlords would simply raise their rent to the maximum amount of the allowance, thus transferring £15 a week from poorer families to private landlords; notes that these changes undermine the original objectives of local housing allowance which were to bring choice and fairness to the benefits system while combating poverty; and therefore calls on the Government to abandon its plan to scrap excess payments to local housing allowance claimants.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Sarah Teather24/11/2009Brent EastLiberal DemocratProposed
Steve Webb24/11/2009NorthavonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell24/11/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George24/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Lynne Jones24/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams25/11/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark25/11/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Robert Wareing25/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Peter Bottomley25/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock25/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell25/11/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes25/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson25/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders25/11/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson26/11/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie26/11/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer26/11/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard26/11/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed26/11/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Lembit 26/11/2009MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Keetch26/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Don Foster26/11/2009BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Danny Alexander30/11/2009Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen30/11/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey01/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin01/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Norman Baker01/12/2009LewesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth02/12/2009CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling02/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Lorely Burt02/12/2009SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis02/12/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan02/12/2009SelbyLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce02/12/2009GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy03/12/2009Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell07/12/2009North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins07/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams08/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy15/12/2009Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley15/12/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake16/12/2009Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson04/02/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott10/02/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Norman Lamb23/02/2010North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.