Parliament Website

Review Of Rail Fare Regulation

EDM number 243 in 2009-10, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 25/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House notes that the UK has the highest train fares in Europe; further notes that the Government is cutting its financial contribution to rail and making passengers pay a greater share, and that this policy leads to fare increases on regulated and unregulated tickets in real terms every year, which will mean ticket price rises in real terms in 2010, even though there may be a nominal decrease in some tickets due to deflation; further notes that rail is a low carbon mode of transport; recognises that modal shift to public transport could achieve significant carbon reduction; and calls on the Government to review current rail fare regulation and policy, with a view to reducing fares to encourage more people to take the train instead of driving or flying.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Roger Godsiff25/11/2009Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourProposed
Bob Spink25/11/2009Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle25/11/2009ChorleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock26/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew26/11/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer26/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Stephen Williams26/11/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir26/11/2009AngusScottish National PartySigned
Robert Wareing26/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Andrew George26/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Burgon26/11/2009ElmetLabourSigned
William McCrea26/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes26/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice26/11/2009PendleLabourSigned
Lynne Jones30/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Austin01/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling02/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen03/12/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Julia Goldsworthy16/12/2009Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes16/12/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby06/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Danny Alexander19/01/2010Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Sally Keeble23/02/2010Northampton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham01/03/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce04/03/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Main17/03/2010St AlbansConservativeSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.