Parliament Website

Myelodysplastic Syndromes

EDM number 272 in 2009-10, proposed by Nick Harvey on 26/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Diseases.

That this House recognises that myelodysplastic syndromes (MDS) are a group of blood disorders affecting approximately 10,000 people in the UK in which around one third of cases progress to acute leukaemia, and that more than 90 per cent. of patients are over the age of 50 when they are diagnosed; notes that there is a lack of awareness of MDS by the public, Parliament and non-specialist healthcare professionals; welcomes the work of the MDS UK Patient Support Group in raising the profile of the conditions and in providing support to patients; calls for continued progress to be made in the diagnosis and treatment of MDS patients across the UK to minimise regional inequality of access to essential, specialist treatment and care through the NHS; calls for clinically effective pharmaceutical interventions to be made available to patients; and recommends that updated national guidelines for treatment are developed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Nick Harvey26/11/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratProposed
Ian Liddell-Grainger26/11/2009BridgwaterConservativeSeconded
Colin Breed26/11/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Norman Lamb26/11/2009North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones26/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley30/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders30/11/2009TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Dai Davies01/12/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Andrew George01/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan01/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew01/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore01/12/2009HendonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell01/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling02/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Matthew Taylor02/12/2009Truro and St AustellLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer02/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke02/12/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea02/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson02/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Michael Clapham02/12/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/12/2009Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
John Leech07/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams08/12/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson10/12/2009North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nick Palmer11/01/2010BroxtoweLabourSigned
Alan Simpson12/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Hughes01/02/2010North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.