Parliament Website

Benefit Tribunals

EDM number 465 in 2009-10, proposed by Eddie McGrady on 15/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Benefits policy.

That this House calls for improved measures for appellants in benefit tribunals; recognises that at present most appellants, who are often amongst the most vulnerable members of society, have no source of income, or only reduced rates of benefit, whilst their appeal is being listed and their entitlement to other secondary benefits is also removed; further recognises that the appeals process can take several months to complete, which places many appellants in difficult financial circumstances with no discernible form of income; and calls on the Department for Work and Pensions to review current guidelines to prevent appellants from experiencing financial hardship.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Eddie McGrady15/12/2009South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Lynne Jones15/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Bob Russell15/12/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan15/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George15/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Katy Clark15/12/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
David Taylor16/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
John Battle16/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
John Leech16/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams16/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley16/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen16/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell05/01/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing05/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nick Harvey06/01/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean06/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Paul Holmes11/01/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins11/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea12/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins14/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
George Galloway28/01/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.