Parliament Website

Below-Cost Selling

EDM number 496 in 2009-10, proposed by John McDonnell on 15/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Food.

That this House notes the negative impact of below-cost selling in the food industry on a whole range of issues, from employment conditions and consumer choice to animal welfare and the maintenance of the UK producer base; is concerned at retailers demanding high levels of discounting disproportionate to production costs and attempting to shift costs to manufacturers and growers both locally and internationally; and therefore supports the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union, representing many of those working in the food industry in the UK, in its call for greater regulation to tackle the unfair advantages of big retailers in order to protect employment conditions within the food industry and the diversity of small manufacturers and producers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor15/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
John McDonnell15/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Wood15/12/2009Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
John Austin15/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSeconded
David Anderson15/12/2009BlaydonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark15/12/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Frank Cook15/12/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn15/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley16/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard16/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mark Durkan16/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Harry Cohen16/12/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Lynne Jones16/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bob Russell16/12/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice16/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Robert Wareing05/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser05/01/2010DoverLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Nick Harvey06/01/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty06/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean06/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Dai Davies06/01/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Mason07/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
David Drew07/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
William McCrea12/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Rudi Vis13/01/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Leech13/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/01/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady27/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.