Parliament Website

Value Added Tax On Memorials

EDM number 745 in 2009-10, proposed by John Leech on 28/01/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Burial and cremation and Taxation.

That this House notes with concern that value added tax is applicable to the erection and maintenance of memorials to the deceased; considers this to be an unnecessary and insensitive tax on the bereaved and those who wish to honour the memory of loved ones; observes that a tax refund for charities and faith groups for the erection of memorials has been in place for some years now in the form of the Memorial Grant Scheme; calls on the Government to extend the scheme to all memorials; and urges the Government to raise at European level the possibility of abolishing such taxes altogether.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

John Leech28/01/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell28/01/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley28/01/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn29/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans01/02/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle01/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Angus MacNeil01/02/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Rudi Vis01/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell01/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey01/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon02/02/2010North DownUUPSigned
Martin Caton02/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew02/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Robert Wareing02/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nicholas Winterton02/02/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter02/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross03/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis03/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Barrett03/02/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard03/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson03/02/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin03/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
William McCrea03/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke04/02/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cummings04/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Betty Williams08/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
John Hemming08/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
John Mason23/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Susan Kramer24/02/2010Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell30/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.