Parliament Website

Catholic Aid For Overseas Development Response To The Haiti Earthquake

EDM number 759 in 2009-10, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 01/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of International development and Latin America.

That this House supports and commends the unstinting commitment and dedication of Catholic Aid for Overseas Development (CAFOD) and its partner Caritas Haiti in helping to meet the desperate humanitarian needs to those whose lives have been devastated by the earthquake in Haiti; notes that for many years the Catholic church has been one of the main providers of healthcare in Haiti and that this role and presence has helped in the initial response; welcomes the re-opening of the Catholic hospital in Port-au-Prince and as well as many other church local health clinics and the distribution of aid through priests and religious groups working in 32 parishes; pays particular tribute to the kind generosity of the many Catholic schools, parishes and the Catholic community as a whole across the country who have helped provide the much-needed and continued financial support to enable CAFOD to help the people of Haiti in their time of need; and calls on the Government to continue and to increase its support to enhance the unique and valuable contribution that faith-based organisations make as part of the response to humanitarian disasters.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle01/02/2010ChorleyLabourProposed
Jim Dobbin01/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
David Crausby01/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans01/02/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Jon Cruddas01/02/2010DagenhamLabourSeconded
Joe Benton01/02/2010BootleLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Janet Dean02/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew02/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore02/02/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Colin Burgon02/02/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Meale02/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Greg Pope02/02/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dai Davies03/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Jim Devine03/02/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross03/02/2010TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Phil Willis03/02/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner03/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard03/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd03/02/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Hepburn03/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Cummings04/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz04/02/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jim McGovern04/02/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/02/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Eddie McGrady22/02/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason23/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.