Parliament Website

Climate Change Science

EDM number 764 in 2009-10, proposed by Peter Ainsworth on 01/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Climate change.

That this House recognises the overwhelming evidence which confirms that human activity is contributing to dangerous climate change; believes that public policy on climate change should be based on peer-reviewed scientific evidence; further believes that the process by which all such evidence is assessed and presented should be open and available to public scrutiny; deplores any failure of detail in the analysis and presentation contained in the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change's (IPCC) Fourth Assessment Report; is concerned that such failures have endangered public confidence in the need for policies aimed at enhancing energy security, reducing fuel poverty, cutting waste and energy bills and improving investment opportunities in clean technologies which will benefit the UK's competitiveness and ability to create sustainable employment; and urges the IPCC to take all necessary measures to ensure public confidence in the methodology that applies to its next assessment.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Peter Ainsworth01/02/2010East SurreyConservativeProposed
Colin Challen01/02/2010Morley and RothwellLabourSeconded
Bob Spink01/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Peter Bottomley01/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock02/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale02/02/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Elliot Morley02/02/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew02/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Rudi Vis02/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Dai Davies03/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Lorely Burt03/02/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner03/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Paul Flynn03/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Edward Davey03/02/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd03/02/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Lazarowicz03/02/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson03/02/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton03/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty04/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/02/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott08/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming08/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams08/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nick Harvey22/02/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy22/02/2010Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty23/02/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce04/03/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell08/03/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Andrew George11/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.