Parliament Website

UK Sanctions Against Iran

EDM number 77 in 2009-10, proposed by Andrew Gwynne on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Iran.

That this House welcomes the British Government's Financial Restrictions Order of 12 October 2009 in relation to business relationships with the Iranian Bank Mellat and the Islamic Republic of Iran Shipping Lines (IRISL) owing to their involvement in financial transactions and transportation of goods related to Iran's ballistic missile and nuclear programmes; calls on other nations to introduce similar measures; notes with alarm the discovery by the Israeli navy on 4 November 2009 of roughly 500 tons of Iranian weapons in IRISL shipping containers on board the vessel Francop en route to Syria and Lebanon; deplores this find as a breach of UN Resolutions 1701 and 1747 and incontrovertible evidence of Iranian interference in the Middle East; and asks the Government to continue pressing for Iran's co-operation with the International Atomic Energy Agency in partnership with the international community and to prepare for further sanctions to prevent Iran from disrupting Middle East peace negotiations and fuelling conflict in the region.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Andrew Gwynne18/11/2009Denton and ReddishLabourProposed
Louise Ellman18/11/2009Liverpool, RiversideLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore18/11/2009HendonLabourSeconded
David Cairns18/11/2009InverclydeLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones18/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams23/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Ian McCartney25/11/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Greg Pope30/11/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Tom Harris30/11/2009Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Alan Beith07/12/2009Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Webb07/12/2009NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jane Kennedy08/12/2009Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott09/12/2009Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Nick Ainger14/12/2009Carmarthen West and South PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley15/12/2009RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Howarth05/01/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne McGuire19/01/2010StirlingLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.