Parliament Website

BBC And Disability Groups

EDM number 787 in 2009-10, proposed by Ann Winterton on 03/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting and Disability discrimination.

That this House notes that over the years there have been numerous complaints by hon. Members regarding the persistent bias of the BBC on matters relating to euthanasia and other life issues and on the manner in which the BBC have misused public funds to promote changes in the law; further notes the bias of the Corporation applies not only to news programmes but to drama, with thinly-disguised plays and soap operas being used to promote the use of euthanasia and misrepresentation of pro-life activists in the UK as people of violence; further notes that these presentations have culminated in the last weeks with a multi-million pound campaign featuring Mrs Kay Gilderdale in Panorama and the fantasy fiction writer, Sir Terry Pratchett, given centre stage to present this year's BBC Richard Dimbleby lecture calling for euthanasia and supported by the BBC website; further notes that as usual the BBC have ignored the rights of the disabled, despite the fact that every disability rights group in the UK is opposed to the legalisation of assisted suicide and euthanasia on the grounds that from experience they know it would undermine the right to life of the disabled; and calls on the Government to make it clear to the BBC that public funds will be withdrawn unless they abide by the Charter and ensure that all programmes on issues of public interest are treated impartially, and that in particular broadcasters must bear in mind the human rights of the disabled.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Ann Winterton03/02/2010CongletonConservativeProposed
Geraldine Smith03/02/2010Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin03/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle03/02/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
David Crausby03/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Andrew Selous03/02/2010South West BedfordshireConservativeSeconded
Brian Jenkins04/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton04/02/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
David Drew05/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
James Gray05/02/2010North WiltshireConservativeSigned
John Hemming08/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Crabb08/02/2010Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSigned
Nigel Waterson08/02/2010EastbourneConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock08/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Spink08/02/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Bob Russell09/02/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed09/02/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Desmond Swayne09/02/2010New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson09/02/2010UpminsterConservativeSigned
William McCrea10/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Binley10/02/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Peter Lilley22/02/2010Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling22/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Ann Widdecombe22/02/2010Maidstone and The WealdConservativeSigned
Robert Walter22/02/2010North DorsetConservativeSigned
David Amess22/02/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans22/02/2010Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan22/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gary Streeter22/02/2010South West DevonConservativeSigned
John Mason23/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Anne Main23/02/2010St AlbansConservativeSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
John Greenway23/02/2010RyedaleConservativeSigned
Tom Clarke23/02/2010Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Bill Olner23/02/2010NuneatonLabourSigned
John Battle24/02/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Adam Holloway24/02/2010GraveshamConservativeSigned
John Robertson25/02/2010Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
John Pugh04/03/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams05/03/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Flello09/03/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Roger Williams17/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Moffat22/03/2010East LothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.