Parliament Website

Comprehensive Peace Agreement In Sudan

EDM number 806 in 2009-10, proposed by David Drew on 04/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and International politics and government.

That this House is concerned about the current situation in Sudan; notes that the 2005 Comprehensive Peace Agreement put an end to one of Africa's longest running civil wars, in which over two million people lost their lives; is gravely concerned that, without adequate preparation, the upcoming national elections and referendum on southern independence could re-ignite conflict between north and south Sudan, with broader implications for regional stability; notes with horror the significant spike in violence in South Sudan in 2009, with over 2,500 killed and 350,000 displaced; also notes that, in the western region of Darfur, millions continue to suffer daily in camps; calls on the Government to seek urgent action now to protect civilians during this turbulent period in Sudan; and further calls on the Government to devote greater attention to inducing the parties, North, South, East and Darfur, to continue dialogue and find constructive solutions to the problems they face.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

David Drew04/02/2010StroudLabourProposed
Edward Davey04/02/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Crabb04/02/2010Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSeconded
Susan Kramer04/02/2010Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Sally Keeble04/02/2010Northampton NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Pritchard04/02/2010The WrekinConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley04/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew Dismore05/02/2010HendonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Mark Hunter08/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan08/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lindsay Hoyle08/02/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Rudi Vis09/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Don Foster09/02/2010BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer09/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed09/02/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty09/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
David Lepper09/02/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Robert Key09/02/2010SalisburyConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice09/02/2010PendleLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/02/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
William McCrea10/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams10/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt10/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Desmond Turner22/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mark Williams22/02/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard22/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/02/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kim Howells23/02/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell26/02/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
James Plaskitt02/03/2010Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Michael Penning30/03/2010Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Andrew Pelling07/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.