Parliament Website

Maguindanao Massacre

EDM number 836 in 2009-10, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 09/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Media.

That this House recalls the Government's strong backing for UN Security Council Resolution 1738 of 23 December 2006 expressing deep concern over the safety of journalists and other civilians in conflict and demanding an end to impunity for their killers; notes with dismay that at least 347 journalists and support staff have been killed since then for trying to bring news to the world; condemns the massacre of at least 57 men and women at Maguindanao in the Philippines on 23 November 2009, including 31 journalists, making this the biggest single death toll for the media in recorded history; notes with strong approval the investigation by independent international forensic experts, including Britain's Chris Cobb-Smith; seeks the ending of impunity for those who murder journalists in the Philippines and elsewhere; and urges the Government to utilise its role in the International Contact Group, and other bodies, to stress to the government of the Philippines that the perpetrators of the Maguindanao massacre should be brought to proper justice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Austin Mitchell09/02/2010Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Don Foster09/02/2010BathLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell09/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark09/02/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Paul Holmes09/02/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Mullin09/02/2010Sunderland SouthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer09/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling09/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Peter Bottomley09/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan09/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Davidson09/02/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham09/02/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle09/02/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dai Havard09/02/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Bob Russell09/02/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Dai Davies10/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Stephen Williams10/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams10/02/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Desmond Turner10/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
John Austin10/02/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Drew10/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/02/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Keetch10/02/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock10/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood22/02/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson22/02/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Julie Morgan22/02/2010Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson23/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kim Howells23/02/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Paul Flynn23/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty24/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.