Parliament Website

Hunger Strike At Yarl's Wood Immigration Removal Centre

EDM number 919 in 2009-10, proposed by John McDonnell on 23/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Immigration.

That this House notes that women detained in Yarl's Wood Immigration Removal Centre have been on hunger strike since 5 February 2010 in protest against being detained for up to two years; condemns the detention of victims of rape and other torture, of mothers separated from their children and anyone who does not face imminent removal; believes that such detention flouts international conventions and UK immigration rules; requests that HM Inspector of Prisons urgently carries out an independent investigation into reports of violence, mistreatment and racist abuse from guards, being kettled for over five hours in a hallway, denied access to toilets and water and locked out in the freezing cold, which women have made to their lawyers, the media and supporters, including the All African Women's Group and Black Women's Rape Action Project; and calls for a moratorium on all removals and deportations of the women who took part in the hunger strike pending the results of that investigation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

John McDonnell23/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn23/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley24/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lynne Jones24/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Linda Riordan24/02/2010HalifaxLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
David Drew24/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech24/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake25/02/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason25/02/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Dai Davies25/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Hemming25/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
George Galloway01/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Nick Palmer02/03/2010BroxtoweLabourSigned
John Cummings02/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma04/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Robert Wareing04/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Adam Price04/03/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Lazarowicz04/03/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Diane Abbott05/03/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Alan Beith05/03/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris08/03/2010Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Sarah Teather09/03/2010Brent EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Fabian Hamilton10/03/2010Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell11/03/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cousins11/03/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Dari Taylor12/03/2010Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Fisher15/03/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Norman Lamb16/03/2010North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Parmjit Dhanda17/03/2010GloucesterLabourSigned
Bob Russell18/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Desmond Turner22/03/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Stephen Williams23/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin25/03/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Alan Reid30/03/2010Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone06/04/2010Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton07/04/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/04/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.