Parliament Website

Funding For Booktrust

EDM number 1330 in 2010-12, proposed by Tom Watson on 24/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Schools.

That this House notes with concern the Department for Education's decision of December 2010 to cut all Government funding for Booktrust; welcomes the Secretary of State for Education's recent decision to review the cut to Booktrust's funding; applauds the national impact that Booktrust has had in encouraging positive attitudes to books, reading for pleasure and family reading, by providing book gifts for children, resources and targeted campaigns; and calls on the Government to safeguard the future funding of Booktrust's Bookstart, Booktime and Booked Up reading programmes beyond March 2011.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Tom Watson24/01/2011West Bromwich EastLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley24/01/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan24/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George24/01/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Graham Stringer25/01/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Paul Murphy25/01/2011TorfaenLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon25/01/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Albert Owen25/01/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/01/2011GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell26/01/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop26/01/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mike Gapes26/01/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn26/01/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon26/01/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Davidson27/01/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Pat Glass27/01/2011North West DurhamLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd31/01/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Mike Hancock31/01/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn31/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin31/01/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alun Michael31/01/2011Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Alan Meale31/01/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh31/01/2011Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/01/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh01/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/02/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Caroline Lucas02/02/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/02/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Steve Rotheram03/02/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/02/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/02/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff07/03/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Chris Ruane21/03/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.