Parliament Website

Farm Animal Welfare

EDM number 147 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Meale on 03/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Agriculture and Animal welfare.

That this House recognises the importance of farm animal welfare and opposes any postponement of the planned EU-wide ban on conventional battery cages for laying hens due to come into force in January 2012, the UK ban on beak trimming of laying hens due to come into force in January 2011; supports those local authorities which no longer use eggs gathered from such caged hens, or which have committed themselves to ending their use or purchase in the near future; and calls on the Government to help establish new higher standards of animal welfare for farm animals by the setting of coterminus criteria linked to food procurement policies in the public sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alan Meale03/06/2010MansfieldLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley03/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Graham Stringer07/06/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock07/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn07/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew Gwynne08/06/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
John Leech08/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan08/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dowd08/06/2010Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Annette Brooke08/06/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz08/06/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/06/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Pound08/06/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/06/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson09/06/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alan Campbell09/06/2010TynemouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/06/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Angela Eagle09/06/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Gordon Birtwistle09/06/2010BurnleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham09/06/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell10/06/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Hilling10/06/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Duncan Hames10/06/2010ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Sharon Hodgson10/06/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/06/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker10/06/2010GedlingLabourSigned
Iain Wright10/06/2010HartlepoolLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas14/06/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
David Anderson15/06/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander15/06/2010Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Linda Riordan16/06/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Kerry McCarthy17/06/2010Bristol EastLabourSigned
David Hamilton23/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson28/06/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Penny Mordaunt28/06/2010Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
David Crausby29/06/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Anne Begg19/07/2010Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford06/09/2010Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.