Parliament Website

Earthquake In Christchurch, New Zealand

EDM number 1487 in 2010-12, proposed by Andrew Rosindell on 28/02/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Australasia.

That this House expresses deep sympathy to the people of Christchurch, New Zealand at this sad time following the devastating loss of life and destruction to their city resulting from the earthquake that struck at 12.51 pm on 22 February 2011; commends the heroic efforts of the emergency services, volunteers and the international community who have rallied behind New Zealand in her hour of need by attending the scene to search for survivors and help the injured; resolves to stand alongside the people of New Zealand in their efforts to rebuild their historic city and particularly Christchurch Cathedral, as well as being mindful of the longer-term economic and social implications for New Zealand's second largest city; and pledges support and friendship from the people of the UK to the people of New Zealand during the difficult days and weeks that lie ahead.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Andrew Rosindell28/02/2011RomfordConservativeProposed
Austin Mitchell28/02/2011Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Paul Beresford28/02/2011Mole ValleyConservativeSeconded
Nigel Dodds28/02/2011Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Angus MacNeil28/02/2011Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Daniel Kawczynski28/02/2011Shrewsbury and AtchamConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale01/03/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan01/03/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell01/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd01/03/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner01/03/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon01/03/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Valerie Vaz02/03/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon02/03/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Lorely Burt02/03/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray02/03/2011North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Hywel Francis02/03/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson02/03/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/03/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell02/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/03/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Tony Lloyd02/03/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Simpson02/03/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie02/03/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Cunningham02/03/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell03/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea03/03/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Annette Brooke03/03/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Therese Coffey04/03/2011Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/03/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew Stephenson07/03/2011PendleConservativeSigned
Linda Riordan07/03/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Michael Connarty07/03/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Julian Lewis07/03/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John Hemming07/03/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton08/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/03/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John Leech08/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper09/03/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/03/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Craig Whittaker09/03/2011Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern09/03/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Michael Weir09/03/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Sandra Osborne09/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/03/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Chuka Umunna10/03/2011StreathamLabourSigned
Marsha Singh14/03/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy16/03/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/04/2011EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.