Parliament Website

Local And Regional Newspapers

EDM number 2462 in 2010-12, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 22/11/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House believes that local and regional newspapers play a vital role in the community; notes that in many places across the country when local amenities have been threatened with sale or closure community groups have taken over their running; further believes that community groups face more significant challenges in terms of timescale and the raising of money than the private enterprises bidding against them; further notes that the Localism Act 2011requires local authorities to maintain a list of assets of community value which have been nominated by the local community; further notes that when listed assets come up for sale or change of ownership the Localism Act 2011gives community groups the time to develop a bid and raise the money to bid to buy the asset when it comes on the open market; and supports the National Union of Journalists' campaign for local and regional newspapers to be listed with local councils as assets of community under the Act.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Austin Mitchell22/11/2011Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
John McDonnell22/11/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Joan Walley22/11/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins22/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell22/11/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan22/11/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Steve Rotheram23/11/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris23/11/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards23/11/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Wood23/11/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley23/11/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock23/11/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton23/11/2011GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/11/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell23/11/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale23/11/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson23/11/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon23/11/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan24/11/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd25/11/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Anderson29/11/2011BlaydonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds30/11/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Michael Crockart01/12/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Iain McKenzie01/12/2011InverclydeLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe05/12/2011Bradford SouthLabourSigned
John Hemming05/12/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon06/12/2011North DownIndependentSigned
John Leech06/12/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas12/12/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Valerie Vaz12/12/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/01/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jim McGovern08/02/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.