Parliament Website

Guide Dogs' Report Forgotten Passengers

EDM number 2666 in 2010-12, proposed by John Leech on 31/01/2012.

That this House notes Guide Dogs' recent report entitled Forgotten Passengers; acknowledges that many blind and partially sighted people have missed their stop when travelling by bus despite asking the driver to notify them, deterring them from using buses and potentially reducing their independence and mobility; recognises that the introduction of audio-visual information systems announcing next stop and final destination would improve the customer experience of bus travel for all passengers; welcomes those operators that have already introduced such systems, but recognises the need for national consistency in accessible public transport; and calls for the Government to amend the public service vehicle accessibility regulations to introduce audio-visual announcements on all new buses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

John Leech31/01/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan31/01/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley31/01/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon01/02/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson01/02/2012Upper BannDUPSeconded
William McCrea01/02/2012South AntrimDUPSeconded
Adrian Sanders01/02/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/02/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson01/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell01/02/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/02/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin01/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty02/02/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson02/02/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton02/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne02/02/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Lady Hermon08/02/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Julian Lewis08/02/2012New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Albert Owen08/02/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell20/02/2012RomfordConservativeSigned
John McDonnell21/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming28/02/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds29/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham12/03/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson13/03/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd13/03/2012EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery16/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe18/04/2012Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Kate Hoey30/04/2012VauxhallLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.