Parliament Website

Housing Emergency - Time For An Alternative

EDM number 2677 in 2010-12, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 01/02/2012.

That this House notes rising homeless applications, overcrowding, repossessions, waiting lists and the threat to tenants' security, rents and housing benefit; believes it is time for an alternative to provide desperately needed homes for rent that are decent, secure, genuinely-affordable and accountably run; welcomes the Housing Emergency coalition of tenants, trade unions, hon. Members, councillors, campaigners, faith groups and others; endorses their call for all who want sustainable, mixed communities across the UK to resist and campaign against cuts in housing benefit, call on landlords not to evict tenants who fall behind with their rent as a result of the new cuts in housing benefit, reject huge council rent rises driven by government debt and inflation formula, oppose the use of so-called `affordable (up to 80 per cent. of market) rent' and reject scapegoating; acknowledges that the shortage of housing is a result of underinvestment and failure to build and is not caused by existing or would-be tenants, in work or not, of whatever race or religion; and calls on the Government to defend security of tenure for existing and future tenants, regulate to control private sector rents and bring forward a programme of investment in new and improved council and other house building with secure tenancies and genuinely-affordable rents.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Austin Mitchell01/02/2012Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Mark Durkan01/02/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale02/02/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn02/02/2012Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson02/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd06/02/2012Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin06/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark06/02/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram07/02/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
John McDonnell07/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne08/02/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
David Anderson08/02/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery08/02/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Dave Watts20/02/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns20/02/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Mary Glindon20/02/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley20/02/2012York CentralLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham20/02/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Mann20/02/2012BassetlawLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner20/02/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Mike Gapes20/02/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Heyes21/02/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas21/02/2012Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Keith Vaz21/02/2012Leicester EastLabourSigned
Joan Walley23/02/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth23/02/2012Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner23/02/2012Brent NorthLabourSigned
George Mudie23/02/2012Leeds EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas23/02/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jimmy Hood27/02/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham27/02/2012Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie28/02/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Connarty28/02/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper29/02/2012West LancashireLabourSigned
Alun Michael01/03/2012Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Albert Owen07/03/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Michael Meacher12/03/2012Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/03/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/03/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson22/03/2012Coventry North WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.