Parliament Website

Copyright And Charles Dickens

EDM number 2720 in 2010-12, proposed by John Whittingdale on 08/02/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Intellectual property.

That this House notes the proposals in the consultation on the Hargreaves Review of Intellectual Property which relate to orphan works, extended collective licensing models and the regulation of licensing bodies; is concerned that the latest options include amendments to the current framework for licensing copyright works in the education sector not covered by the original review; believes that these proposals will undermine the principle that copyright should give access to the consumer while ensuring authors or creators are rewarded for their endeavours, and that the erosion of these licensing schemes would adversely affect the income of writers, undermine the incentives for copyright holders and lead to a decline in the breadth and quality of material available to schools, colleges and universities; recalls that Charles Dickens was a prolific and successful writer and a passionate advocate of the principle of copyright; and calls on the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills, in this year of the bicentenary of Dickens' birth, to ensure that the rights of all the UK's creative industries are properly protected.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

John Whittingdale08/02/2012MaldonConservativeProposed
Frank Field08/02/2012BirkenheadLabourSeconded
Pete Wishart08/02/2012Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Dowd08/02/2012Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Brian Binley08/02/2012Northampton SouthConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell08/02/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
George Howarth08/02/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin08/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Don Foster08/02/2012BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Dave Watts08/02/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders20/02/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams20/02/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley20/02/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock20/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes20/02/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/02/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/02/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh20/02/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale21/02/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson21/02/2012Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Dan Rogerson21/02/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn21/02/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Graham Brady21/02/2012Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson21/02/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Lady Hermon21/02/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Cunningham21/02/2012Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd23/02/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds23/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Tredinnick23/02/2012BosworthConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy23/02/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Thurso27/02/2012Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Walley27/02/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming28/02/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Hodge29/02/2012BarkingLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper29/02/2012West LancashireLabourSigned
Tom Brake05/03/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel05/03/2012North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Mike Wood07/03/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley12/03/2012HoveConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff13/03/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.