Parliament Website

Predatory Pricing By Energy Suppliers

EDM number 2787 in 2010-12, proposed by Alex Cunningham on 28/02/2012.

That this House notes with concern the predatory pricing tactics pursued by some large energy suppliers in which loss-leading tariffs are offered to online customers, whilst the majority of existing, loyal customers are excluded from accessing these deals; further notes that these deals are to the detriment of customers as energy supplier losses in one area are made up by higher charges for existing customers elsewhere; expresses concern that these pricing policies harm competition in the energy market by preventing smaller suppliers from competing with the larger suppliers; and calls on the Government to work with the regulator to create a fair market for customers and smaller suppliers by putting an end to this form of predatory pricing.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Alex Cunningham28/02/2012Stockton NorthLabourProposed
Martin Horwood28/02/2012CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale29/02/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell29/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock29/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Steve Rotheram29/02/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Bob Russell29/02/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn29/02/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/02/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin29/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns29/02/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
John Pugh01/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie01/03/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Adrian Sanders01/03/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd01/03/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Leech01/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Iain McKenzie06/03/2012InverclydeLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner07/03/2012Brent NorthLabourSigned
Pat Glass07/03/2012North West DurhamLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/03/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Robert Smith08/03/2012West Aberdeenshire and KincardineLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe08/03/2012Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Michael Weir08/03/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas09/03/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Andrew Percy12/03/2012Brigg and GooleConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/03/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield15/03/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Stephen Williams20/03/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice20/03/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.