Parliament Website

80th Anniversary Of The BBC World Service

EDM number 2792 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 28/02/2012.

That this House notes that 29 February 2012 is the 80th anniversary of the BBC World Service; believes that the BBCWorld Service provides a service which is second to none internationally; supports the valuable work done by journalists at the BBC World Service who are working in difficult and sometimes hostile environments; further believes that the BBC World Service provides a lifeline for people in many countries; further notes that the BBC World Service reports in the Middle East and North Africa have provided a source of unbiased news to many; and further believes that funding should be provided to the BBC World Service in order to enable it to carry out its role as a world class broadcasting network.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

John McDonnell28/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
John Cryer28/02/2012Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Robert Halfon28/02/2012HarlowConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan28/02/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George28/02/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale29/02/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin29/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns29/02/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram29/02/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan29/02/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley29/02/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Hugh Bayley29/02/2012York CentralLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds29/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/02/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn29/02/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner29/02/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon29/02/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Russell29/02/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon01/03/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
John Leech01/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson01/03/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie01/03/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tony Lloyd01/03/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock05/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland05/03/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Vickers05/03/2012CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Martin Caton06/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Ian Lavery07/03/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Grahame Morris07/03/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
Richard Burden08/03/2012Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe08/03/2012Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson12/03/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark13/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield15/03/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz15/03/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Menzies Campbell27/03/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood16/04/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Julian Huppert16/04/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.