Parliament Website

Gender Abortion

EDM number 2837 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 07/03/2012.

That this House is seriously concerned over claims that some doctors have agreed to facilitate abortions on the grounds of the gender of unborn babies and were willing to falsify abortion notification forms to hide that fact; welcomes the recent reaction of the Secretary of State for Health that such actions are illegal and immoral and that an investigation is being launched; and urges the Secretary of State to ensure that the investigation encompasses the records of all abortion clinics, whether NHS or private, and gives a clear statement that such practices cannot be allowed to occur in a civilised society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Jim Dobbin07/03/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Michael Connarty07/03/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan07/03/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Joe Benton07/03/2012BootleLabourSeconded
Fiona Bruce07/03/2012CongletonConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon08/03/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
John Pugh08/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/03/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds08/03/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew George08/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley08/03/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Reckless08/03/2012Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
Ian Mearns09/03/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Kate Hoey12/03/2012VauxhallLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson12/03/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson12/03/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech13/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea14/03/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Paul Murphy14/03/2012TorfaenLabourSigned
Albert Owen14/03/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell14/03/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton14/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland15/03/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart15/03/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon20/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Leigh20/03/2012GainsboroughConservativeSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.