Parliament Website

Ending Discrimination Against Women Athletes In Saudi Arabia

EDM number 2938 in 2010-12, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 27/03/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Equality, Middle East and Sports.

That this House is encouraged by reports that Saudi Arabia, as well as Qatar and Brunei, plans to send women competitors to the London 2012 Olympics, the first time women from those countries will compete in the Olympic Games; believes in the fundamental principles of the Olympic Charter which state, inter alia, that `the practice of sport is a human right' and that `every individual must have the possibility of practising sport, without discrimination of any kind'; and calls on the International Olympic Committee and the UK Government to urge the government of Saudi Arabia to remove the barriers that currently deny women and girls access to sporting facilities and prevent them from exercising and taking part in sporting activities and competitions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn27/03/2012Islington NorthLabourProposed
David Simpson16/04/2012Upper BannDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale16/04/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock16/04/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/04/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George17/04/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson17/04/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/04/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Jim Shannon17/04/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
David Morris18/04/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Michael Crockart18/04/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin18/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea18/04/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech19/04/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Tredinnick19/04/2012BosworthConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/04/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/04/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Bob Russell19/04/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark23/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/04/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.