Parliament Website

Quality School Lunches

EDM number 413 in 2010-12, proposed by Annette Brooke on 06/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Health education and preventive medicine and Schools.

That this House recognises that good school meals are essential to protect child health, improve behaviour, develop social skills, contribute to an effective curriculum and maximise pupils' ability to learn and achieve; is alarmed that a quarter of children are now overweight or obese; believes that this makes them more likely to suffer from serious health problems later in life, costing the NHS 10 billion a year; notes that the implementation of food and nutritional standards in primary and secondary schools has seen great improvement in the quality of food served in schools; further notes the significant contribution made by the school catering industry and the 100,000 jobs in the UK economy which depend on it; further believes that local food procurement can support British farming; is concerned that forthcoming cuts to local authority budgets will jeopardise the quality and many benefits of the school meal service; and calls on the Secretary of State for Education to follow the Food for Life Partnership's recommendations to protect the school meal service from the pressures of local authority spending cuts by introducing a minimum spend per pupil for ingredients, enabling a virtuous circle of improved food quality and increased take-up of school lunches, spreading fixed costs further and ensuring that a quality catering service remains economically viable and an essential part of good food culture in schools.

This motion has been signed by a total of 66 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Annette Brooke06/07/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell06/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton07/07/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock07/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Williams07/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale07/07/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
John Leech07/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Glenda Jackson08/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden08/07/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Keith Vaz08/07/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell08/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram12/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Rachel Reeves12/07/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Chris Williamson12/07/2010Derby NorthLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/07/2010HammersmithLabourSigned
Diana Johnson12/07/2010Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes12/07/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/07/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas12/07/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Pugh12/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham13/07/2010WorkingtonLabourSigned
Kevin Barron13/07/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson13/07/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz13/07/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Julie Elliott14/07/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Jack Dromey14/07/2010Birmingham, ErdingtonLabourSigned
Tristram Hunt14/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Kate Green14/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Pat Glass14/07/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Mark Williams14/07/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Chapman14/07/2010DarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson14/07/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Joan Walley14/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne14/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Toby Perkins15/07/2010ChesterfieldLabourSigned
Lilian Greenwood15/07/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Julie Hilling15/07/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Chi Onwurah15/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Jon Trickett19/07/2010HemsworthLabourWithdrawn
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Graham Jones19/07/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Bill Esterson20/07/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield21/07/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali21/07/2010Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Russell Brown22/07/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg22/07/2010Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin27/07/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson06/09/2010Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Andrew George06/09/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson06/09/2010East AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Swales06/09/2010RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg13/09/2010Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
George Howarth11/10/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander11/10/2010Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/10/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Murphy28/10/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Tessa Munt08/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/11/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tom Brake24/11/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.