Parliament Website

Health And Safety

EDM number 441 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 07/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial health and safety.

That this House notes that according to the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) in 2008-09 1.2 million people were suffering from an illness they believed was caused or made worse by their current or past work, 180 workers were killed at work and 131,895 other workplace injuries were reported; recognises that the real figures are likely to be much higher given that many work-related fatalities are filtered out from the HSE's headline statistics, that the number of occupational disease deaths each year is never published and that ill-health estimates miss entire categories of common occupational diseases and underestimate others; deeply regrets therefore that people are still dying, being seriously injured or made ill simply as a result of carrying out their day to day job often as a result of health and safety failings by employers; further notes the estimated cost of around 30 billion per year to the economy of poor workplace health and safety and that this burden is borne heavily by workers and their families; believes there is no evidence to support cutting back on health and safety regulation but instead that the current system of prevention and enforcement needs bolstering; reaffirms the right of all workers to work in a safe and healthy workplace; and therefore calls on the Government to reject calls for deregulation and instead look to strengthen the current legislative framework and ensure that the Health and Safety Executive is adequately resourced in order to stop more people dying or receiving injuries unnecessarily.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John McDonnell07/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Ian Lavery07/07/2010WansbeckLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan07/07/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell07/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Crausby07/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Nia Griffith07/07/2010LlanelliLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd07/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Caroline Lucas07/07/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John Mann07/07/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Ian Davidson07/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson07/07/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Kate Green07/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy07/07/2010WiganLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Alan Meale08/07/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell08/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards08/07/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin08/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner08/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie12/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn12/07/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson12/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram12/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop13/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne13/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Katy Clark13/07/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kevin Barron13/07/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Joan Walley14/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Mark Williams14/07/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Tom Greatrex14/07/2010Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabourSigned
Julie Elliott14/07/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
George Howarth15/07/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Lilian Greenwood15/07/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Stella Creasy06/09/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson06/09/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham06/09/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice08/09/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Malcolm Wicks13/09/2010Croydon NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty11/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim McGovern11/10/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham13/10/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Esterson21/10/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
John Cryer23/11/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.