Parliament Website

Conduct Of Private Loan Companies

EDM number 654 in 2010-12, proposed by Linda Riordan on 27/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Loans.

That this House is concerned about the practices of loan companies like which charge people excessive interest rates for borrowing money; notes that first time customers could pay as much as 2,689 per cent. annual rate for a short-term loan; finds it distasteful that companies can prey on vulnerable people in this manner; recognises that people using this company will end up in a cycle of debt making themselves even poorer; is appalled that advertises on televisionportraying itselfas a respectable company; condemns the tone of the advertisements which try and encourage people to borrow money; and calls on the Office of Fair Trading to urgently investigate the interest levels this company charges which are exploiting some of the poorest people in society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourProposed
Glenda Jackson06/09/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan06/09/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock06/09/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley06/09/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Caroline Lucas06/09/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Rachel Reeves06/09/2010Leeds WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/09/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ian Mearns07/09/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram07/09/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Graham Jones07/09/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop07/09/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Tracey Crouch07/09/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Virendra Sharma07/09/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin07/09/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale07/09/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
William McCrea07/09/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Dai Havard07/09/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner07/09/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/09/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Hugh Bayley08/09/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/09/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Richard Burden09/09/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Angela Eagle09/09/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/09/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon09/09/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/09/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd09/09/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Austin Mitchell13/09/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Pat Glass13/09/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd13/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby14/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Leech14/09/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Luciana Berger15/09/2010Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSigned
Julie Hilling16/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/10/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Lavery12/10/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
David Heyes16/11/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.