Parliament Website

Government Funding For UK Science

EDM number 707 in 2010-12, proposed by Mark Lazarowicz on 09/09/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Public expenditure and Science.

That this House expresses its concern over the recent comments by the Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills apparently signalling retrenchment in Government funding for UK science; supports the view of the President of the Royal Society that short-term austerity risks undermining the UK's future science base; notes that the United States, China, Germany and France are all significantly increasing their science budgets in the coming years as a central part of their strategy for long-term economic growth; and believes that investment in basic scientific research throughout the UK is vital if the commercial benefits of developing new technology are to be broadly spread, rather than restricting funding to a reduced number of institutions as the Government appears to propose.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley09/09/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale13/09/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Austin Mitchell13/09/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan13/09/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
David Crausby14/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Valerie Vaz14/09/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop14/09/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Graham Stringer14/09/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham14/09/2010WorkingtonLabourSigned
John McDonnell14/09/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell15/09/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham15/09/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne15/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield15/09/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/09/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Graeme Morrice16/09/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham16/09/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Chi Onwurah16/09/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Chris Williamson16/09/2010Derby NorthLabourSigned
Wayne David16/09/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke16/09/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Hilling16/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Pat Doherty11/10/2010West TyroneSinn FeinWithdrawn
Lindsay Roy11/10/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Esther McVey11/10/2010Wirral WestConservativeSigned
Catherine McKinnell11/10/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore11/10/2010Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Pamela Nash11/10/2010Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned
Jim McGovern11/10/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Nia Griffith11/10/2010LlanelliLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson11/10/2010East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Twigg11/10/2010Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley11/10/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Louise Ellman11/10/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Michael Connarty11/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Andrew Love11/10/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne12/10/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
Stella Creasy12/10/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/10/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge19/10/2010BarkingLabourSigned
Bill Esterson21/10/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Naomi Long27/10/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Grahame Morris06/12/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper16/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.