Parliament Website

Peace, Justice, Reconciliation And Rights In Sri Lanka

EDM number 752 in 2010-12, proposed by Simon Hughes on 15/09/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and International politics and government.

That this House notes with concern the tens of thousands of Tamils still interned in camps since the end of the Sri Lankan civil war in May 2009; further notes that thousands of people, including children, are suspected of being held in secret detention without charge or access to the outside world and are therefore at increased risk of torture and extrajudicial execution; strongly condemns the restrictions and attacks on journalists and human rights defenders, the draconian emergency regulations still in place, and thelack of progress towards an inclusive political solution; urges the Government to express its concerns and to do all it can to promote a lasting peace in Sri Lanka based on justice and reconciliation; calls on the UN Secretary-General to remain firm and give full support to his panel of experts; and further calls for a full and independent inquiry into alleged war crimes committed by all parties during and since the end of hostilities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 48 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Simon Hughes15/09/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley16/09/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mary Glindon16/09/2010North TynesideLabourSeconded
John McDonnell16/09/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George16/09/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan11/10/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Charles Kennedy11/10/2010Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Love11/10/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes11/10/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott11/10/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz11/10/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Lorely Burt11/10/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Heidi Alexander11/10/2010Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Robert Halfon11/10/2010HarlowConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stella Creasy12/10/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
John Leech12/10/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Slaughter12/10/2010HammersmithLabourSigned
Roger Williams12/10/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock12/10/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne12/10/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Grahame Morris13/10/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson13/10/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Andrew Gwynne13/10/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/10/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/10/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma13/10/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/10/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell18/10/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Siobhain McDonagh18/10/2010Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy18/10/2010Bristol EastLabourSigned
Mark Williams18/10/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Mowat18/10/2010Warrington SouthConservativeSigned
Michael Crockart19/10/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock20/10/2010Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/10/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/10/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley28/10/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Malcolm Bruce01/11/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming01/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards01/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tessa Munt08/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/11/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Barry Gardiner11/11/2010Brent NorthLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin23/11/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
John Mann24/11/2010BassetlawLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.