Parliament Website

Breakthrough Breast Cancer And Breast Cancer Awareness Month

EDM number 843 in 2010-12, proposed by John Leech on 18/10/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House recognises that breast cancer is the most common cancer in the UK with nearly 46,000 women diagnosed with the disease each year; accepts that although the number of breast cancer deaths in the UK has decreased considerably in recent years, survival rates still lag behind some other European countries; notes that there is evidence that being breast aware - knowing the signs and symptoms of breast cancer and the importance of early presentation - and regularly attending NHS breast screening appointments are two of the three most influential factors on breast cancer survival in the UK, the third being improved treatments; acknowledges that breast screening is a vital part of early diagnosis, with an estimated 1,400 lives saved in England each year thanks to the NHS breast screening programme; further notes that currently invitations for NHS breast screening are sent to women aged 50 to 70 years every three years, and that beyond this age women are still entitled to free breast screening but need to make their own appointments; and supports Breakthrough Breast Cancer's call for GPs to encourage all women to be breast aware, remind women over 50 years to attend their breast screening appointments and make their older patients aware that they can still attend breast screening.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John Leech18/10/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Sharon Hodgson18/10/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSeconded
Steve Brine18/10/2010WinchesterConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley18/10/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell18/10/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan18/10/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George18/10/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock19/10/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop19/10/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mark Williams19/10/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams19/10/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson19/10/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/10/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders19/10/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell19/10/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alan Meale19/10/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon19/10/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
James Clappison19/10/2010HertsmereConservativeSigned
David Simpson20/10/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Paul Blomfield20/10/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/10/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
William McCrea20/10/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Naomi Long20/10/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Elfyn Llwyd20/10/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Sheridan20/10/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie20/10/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nicholas Dakin21/10/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Annette Brooke21/10/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram21/10/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin21/10/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell21/10/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma21/10/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Pugh22/10/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins22/10/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz22/10/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Pat Glass22/10/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/10/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty25/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mary Glindon25/10/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Robert Halfon26/10/2010HarlowConservativeSigned
Thomas Docherty26/10/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSigned
David Tredinnick27/10/2010BosworthConservativeSigned
Tracey Crouch27/10/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
George Howarth27/10/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley28/10/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Ian Swales28/10/2010RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Miller02/11/2010Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas03/11/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Bill Esterson03/11/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
David Mowat08/11/2010Warrington SouthConservativeSigned
Lady Hermon10/11/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/11/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rosie Cooper15/11/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Julie Elliott17/11/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/11/2010HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.