Parliament Website

Trafficking And Sexual Exploitation

EDM number 931 in 2010-12, proposed by Annette Brooke on 01/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crime, Human rights and Sexual offences.

That this House congratulates the Soroptimist International of Poole for highlighting issues of trafficking for sexual exploitation through the Purple Teardrop Campaign; recognises that over the last year 4,000 people have been trafficked into the UK and forced to work as prostitutes; notes that advertisements for services of a sexual nature increase the demand for trafficking; is concerned that advertising of sex for sale increases greatly when large numbers of tourists gather for sporting events, such as the Olympics; is further concerned that any cuts in police funding should not impact on the ability of police forces to take effective actionagainst trafficking; and urges the Government to take action to reduce demand in the UK for trafficked women.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Annette Brooke01/11/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell01/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan01/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George01/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Dobbin02/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
John Leech02/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale02/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams02/11/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley03/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Robert Syms03/11/2010PooleConservativeSigned
Tom Blenkinsop03/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty03/11/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jim Shannon03/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson04/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson04/11/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh08/11/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron08/11/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh09/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin09/11/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Naomi Long10/11/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Simon Wright10/11/2010Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Horwood11/11/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Tessa Munt11/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams17/11/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart17/11/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon18/11/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Stephen Gilbert29/11/2010St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann01/12/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kate Green09/12/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders14/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham13/01/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Esterson26/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott27/01/2011Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg02/02/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Frank Doran17/02/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Eleanor Laing08/03/2011Epping ForestConservativeSigned
David Crausby08/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Thurso09/03/2011Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman10/03/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood21/03/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy06/07/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Elan Jones12/07/2011Clwyd SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.