Parliament Website

Asylum Support Rates

EDM number 1019 in 2012-13, proposed by Sarah Teather on 05/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asylum and Incomes and poverty.

That this House believes that Britain can rightly be proud of its history of welcoming those fleeing persecution and war; welcomes the cross-party parliamentary report on asylum support for children and families; notes with concern the finding of that report that current asylum support levels are leaving up to 10,000 children destitute or in severe poverty; further believes that section 4 support rates are especially austere and that cashless payments impose damaging restrictions on how families buy essential items; further notes that asylum support rates have not been increased since April 2011; regrets that the previous Government broke the historic link between support rates for asylum seekers and income support; calls on the Government to increase asylum support rates so that they are at least equal to 70 per cent of income support and to up-rate support rates annually; and further calls on the Government to abolish section 4 support and implement a single cash-based support system.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Sarah Teather05/02/2013Brent CentralLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Durkan05/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Dobbin06/02/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley06/02/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Virendra Sharma06/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn06/02/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell06/02/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton06/02/2013GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne07/02/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Stephen Williams07/02/2013Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock11/02/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Huppert11/02/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Hodge11/02/2013BarkingLabourSigned
David Simpson12/02/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
John Leech12/02/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/02/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Caroline Lucas13/02/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tessa Jowell14/02/2013Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
David Ward14/02/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper25/02/2013West LancashireLabourWithdrawn
Greg Mulholland25/02/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Geraint Davies25/02/2013Swansea WestLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton25/02/2013Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Lady Hermon26/02/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Glenda Jackson27/02/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Naomi Long27/02/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Yasmin Qureshi27/02/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson06/03/2013East AntrimDUPSigned
Frank Dobson07/03/2013Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood11/03/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Williams19/03/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Cunningham19/03/2013Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Anne Begg20/03/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
George Mudie25/03/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned
Hywel Francis25/03/2013AberavonLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham26/03/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
Pete Wishart15/04/2013Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris15/04/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
John Thurso17/04/2013Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Eilidh Whiteford17/04/2013Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Katy Clark24/04/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.