Parliament Website

Fetal Valproate Syndrome

EDM number 1021 in 2012-13, proposed by David Anderson on 05/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Drugs misuse, Health services and Patient rights and complaints.

That this House notes with concern the withdrawal of public funding from the Fetal Anti-Convulsant Litigation in November 2010; further notes that the taxpayer is now covering the additional health, education and welfare costs incurred by families affected by fetal valproate syndrome; believes the Department of Health and the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agencycould have avoided the large numbers of people affected, since the drug sodium valproate came onto the market in the late 1970s, by informing patients treated with anti-convulsant medications and women of child-bearing age; and calls for an independent inquiry into why information has been withheld from the public concerning the disastrous way in which sodium valproate has affected pregnant women and their children.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

David Anderson05/02/2013BlaydonLabourProposed
David Heyes05/02/2013Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Karl McCartney05/02/2013LincolnConservativeSeconded
Clive Betts05/02/2013Sheffield South EastLabourSeconded
Alan Meale05/02/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan06/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon06/02/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
John McDonnell06/02/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/02/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/02/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin06/02/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
George Galloway06/02/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/02/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne07/02/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/02/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce11/02/2013Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/02/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern11/02/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell11/02/2013Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma12/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/02/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dan Rogerson13/02/2013North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon13/02/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson14/02/2013Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Frank Doran28/02/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby14/03/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long20/03/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Michael Meacher10/04/2013Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley10/04/2013York CentralLabourSigned
Jessica Morden15/04/2013Newport EastLabourSigned
Bill Esterson16/04/2013Sefton CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.