Parliament Website

VAT On Alterations To Churches

EDM number 110 in 2012-13, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 22/05/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Taxation.

That this House notes the announcement in the 2012 Budget that alterations to listed properties will be subject to the standard rate of VAT;further notesthat 45 per cent of the Grade I listed buildings in this country are Church of England churches; further notes that out of 16,000 Church of England churches, 12,500 are listed and will be subject to this VAT;acknowledges that many of these buildings are maintained by volunteers; further notes that many of the alterations in question will make such buildings more viable for use by the wider community; welcomes the additional 30 million a year fund provided by the Treasury for future alterations and repairs to listed cathedrals and churches, on top of the 12 million already in the Listed Places of Worship Grant for repairs; and calls on the Government to monitor the Listed Places of Worship Grant to ensure that it is sufficient to meet the costs of alterations to listed churches in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Valerie Vaz22/05/2012Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Mark Durkan22/05/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George22/05/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock22/05/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley22/05/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lady Hermon23/05/2012North DownIndependentSeconded
Hugh Bayley23/05/2012York CentralLabourSigned
James Gray23/05/2012North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Hywel Francis23/05/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin23/05/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/05/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/05/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen23/05/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Alan Meale23/05/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/05/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon23/05/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Mary Glindon24/05/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/05/2012GowerLabourSigned
Nicholas Soames24/05/2012Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Roger Godsiff11/06/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas11/06/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Tony Lloyd11/06/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Julian Lewis11/06/2012New Forest EastConservativeSigned
George Howarth11/06/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/06/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech12/06/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Blomfield12/06/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy14/06/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/06/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/06/2012Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
David Anderson18/06/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Mark Williams20/06/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby21/06/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long25/06/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
George Galloway25/06/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Rosie Cooper03/09/2012West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.