Parliament Website


EDM number 128 in 2012-13, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 23/05/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Crime and North America.

That this House notes that it has been over five months since it passed a motion on 5 December 2011 calling on the Government to reform the UK's extradition arrangements to strengthen the protection of British citizens by both introducing, as a matter of urgency, a Bill to enact the safeguards recommended by the Joint Committee on Human Rights in its Fifteenth Report, HC 767, and by pursuing such amendments to the UK-US Extradition Treaty 2003 and the EU Council Framework Decision 2002 on the European Arrest Warrant asare necessary in order to give effect to such recommendations; further notes that it is over seven months since the Scott Baker Review of the UK's extradition laws; welcomes the announcement in March 2012 by President Obama and the Prime Minister of a joint initiative to look into the operation of the UK-US Extradition Treaty; believes that it would not be in the public interest for anyone to be extradited to the US from the UK until theurgent legislation called for by Parliament to amend the 2003 Treaty has been passed; supports the Home Affairs Select Committee's recommendation for the Home Secretary to publish the evidence to the Baker Review immediately; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation in line with Parliament's wishes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

Caroline Lucas23/05/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Dennis Skinner23/05/2012BolsoverLabourSeconded
John McDonnell23/05/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
David Davis23/05/2012Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan23/05/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Paul Blomfield23/05/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/05/2012Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/05/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell23/05/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh24/05/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/05/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale24/05/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/05/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
George Galloway11/06/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Julian Huppert11/06/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer11/06/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/06/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman11/06/2012Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders11/06/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie11/06/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin11/06/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/06/2012GowerLabourSigned
John Leech12/06/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart13/06/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Morris13/06/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Ian Mearns13/06/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford13/06/2012Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil13/06/2012Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie13/06/2012Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell13/06/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Angus Robertson13/06/2012MorayScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/06/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George18/06/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff18/06/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Frank Dobson19/06/2012Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Hywel Francis19/06/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Williams19/06/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz20/06/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Naomi Long20/06/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lindsay Roy20/06/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore20/06/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram20/06/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock21/06/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Richard Burden26/06/2012Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
John Hemming26/06/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake27/06/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams27/06/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Ward27/06/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards27/06/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Kate Hoey02/07/2012VauxhallLabourSigned
David Heyes02/07/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge02/07/2012BarkingLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd03/07/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander04/07/2012Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/07/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Tim Farron10/07/2012Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Weir12/07/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Mark Tami03/09/2012Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra03/09/2012Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland03/09/2012Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart03/09/2012Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Reid03/09/2012Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Vickers05/09/2012CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Albert Owen18/09/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Martin Horwood15/10/2012CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams15/10/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz15/10/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.