Parliament Website

Brutal Gang Rape And Murder In New Delhi, India

EDM number 877 in 2012-13, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 07/01/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Crimes of violence and Sexual offences.

That this House condemns the brutal gang rape and murder of the 23 year old young woman named by the people of India, `Nirbhaya Damini' Jyoti Singh Pandey, the brave heart and daughter of India, on 16 December 2012 in New Delhi, India, who was savagely attacked by a group of men on a bus and subsequently died from her injuries on 29 December 2012; supports the calls for greater protection for women across the world including here in the UK that have been triggered by this heinous crime; offers condolences to the grieving family and friends of Nirbhaya Damini and calls on the UK Government, judiciary and police to offer assistance to the Indian government to help bring about justice in this case and others like it; calls on the UK Government to work with the police and judiciary here in the UK to resolve more rape and violent crimes against women and to bring those responsible to justice; and believes that society at large must do much more to protect women from such abhorrent acts and that violence against women in all its forms cannot be tolerated and governments around the world and international bodies should do more protect women and to punish those who perpetrate such despicable acts including gang rape, rape, honour killings, forced marriages, female genital mutilation, infanticide, femicide, dowry-related violence and all kinds of domestic violence.

This motion has been signed by a total of 75 MPs.

Virendra Sharma07/01/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Alan Meale07/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan07/01/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George07/01/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley07/01/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn08/01/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
David Ward08/01/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon08/01/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
John McDonnell08/01/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson08/01/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon08/01/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie08/01/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon09/01/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/01/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke09/01/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell09/01/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson09/01/2013Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Mike Hancock09/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton10/01/2013GowerLabourSigned
Keith Vaz10/01/2013Leicester EastLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman10/01/2013HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell14/01/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech14/01/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Morris15/01/2013Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Andrew McDonald15/01/2013MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham15/01/2013Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Jim McGovern15/01/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
John Hemming15/01/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg15/01/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/01/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne15/01/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Frank Field16/01/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
Sarah Champion16/01/2013RotherhamLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz16/01/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram16/01/2013Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield16/01/2013Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Michael Crockart16/01/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona Bruce16/01/2013CongletonConservativeSigned
David Anderson16/01/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley16/01/2013York CentralLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey16/01/2013West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Jim Dowd16/01/2013Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/01/2013Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Julian Brazier16/01/2013CanterburyConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Sheridan16/01/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Dave Watts16/01/2013St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love17/01/2013EdmontonLabourSigned
Mark Williams17/01/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper17/01/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
George Galloway17/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Frank Doran17/01/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh17/01/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea18/01/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
David Blunkett18/01/2013Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Joan Walley18/01/2013Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood21/01/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Julian Huppert21/01/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona O'Donnell21/01/2013East LothianLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/01/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
George Mudie23/01/2013Leeds EastLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/01/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Joan Ruddock25/01/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz25/01/2013Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Louise Ellman28/01/2013Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Albert Owen29/01/2013Ynys MLabourSigned
Joe Benton29/01/2013BootleLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi29/01/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Grahame Morris12/02/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds13/02/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Tessa Jowell14/02/2013Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Linda Riordan14/02/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
William Cash27/02/2013StoneConservativeSigned
David Crausby05/03/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.