Parliament Website

UK Childhood Cancer Awareness Month

EDM number 1086 in 2013-14, proposed by Fiona O'Donnell on 12/02/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Children and families, Diseases and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House regrets that every day 10 children and young people in the UK hear the shocking news that they have cancer; notes that although survival rates are now around 75 per cent, cancer remains the largest cause of death from disease in children and young people in the UK; recognises that more needs to be done to raise awareness of the impact of childhood cancer on children and families; urges the Government to support Childhood Cancer Awareness Month (CCAM) to raise awareness of the challenges children with cancer face, how charities help them and why it is vital to raise funds to improve support provided; supports the change of month of UK CCAM, which aims to raise awareness of the impact of childhood cancer and the need for more support for children and their families, to September; commends the work of Julie Yates and others who have campaigned to change the date of CCAM to September; acknowledges that this move brings the whole of the UK's CCAM activities into line with other countries; welcomes the work of charities such as CLIC Sargent, Childhood Cancer and Leukaemia Group, Cancer Research UK, Leukaemia and Lymphoma Research and others who work with children with cancer which have announced that they will join together in September this year to take part in the month and raise awareness for more support; and further recognises plans to adopt the gold ribbon as the symbol for childhood cancer awareness throughout the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 71 MPs.

Fiona O'Donnell12/02/2014East LothianLabourProposed
Jimmy Hood12/02/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSeconded
Katy Clark12/02/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan12/02/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley13/02/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Dennis Skinner13/02/2014BolsoverLabourSeconded
Bob Russell13/02/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh24/02/2014SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice24/02/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock24/02/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jim Shannon24/02/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams24/02/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/02/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield24/02/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Julian Huppert24/02/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams24/02/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/02/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/02/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Havard24/02/2014Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie24/02/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Grahame Morris24/02/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson24/02/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden24/02/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham25/02/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi25/02/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Leech25/02/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern25/02/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson25/02/2014East AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton25/02/2014GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/02/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson25/02/2014Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Nick Smith25/02/2014Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham25/02/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke25/02/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea25/02/2014South AntrimDUPSigned
Hywel Francis26/02/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Naomi Long26/02/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Sarah Champion26/02/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne26/02/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim Dowd26/02/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/02/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Williams26/02/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blackman26/02/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Menzies Campbell26/02/2014North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz26/02/2014Leicester EastLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd27/02/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Lazarowicz27/02/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
David Crausby27/02/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Frank Doran27/02/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz28/02/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Joan Walley03/03/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Pat Glass04/03/2014North West DurhamLabourSigned
Chris Ruane04/03/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Tony Cunningham05/03/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Albert Owen06/03/2014Ynys MLabourSigned
Michael Connarty06/03/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Louise Ellman12/03/2014Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
George Mudie17/03/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes31/03/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
George Galloway01/04/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Julian Lewis09/04/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
David Anderson09/04/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon09/04/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram09/04/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper09/04/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Bill Wiggin09/04/2014North HerefordshireConservativeSigned
Andrew George06/05/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott08/05/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.