Parliament Website

Global Malala Day

EDM number 368 in 2013-14, proposed by Andrew Stephenson on 08/07/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Schools and Sex discrimination.

That this House reiterates its condemnation of the cowardly and cruel shooting of Malala Yousafzai and her two friends in Pakistan in October 2012; notes that Malala was targeted for her courage in campaigning against the Taliban and for education as a basic right for girls; further notes that over 60 million children across the world are denied the right to education; commends staff at Birmingham's Queen Elizabeth Hospital for their successful treatment of Malala and her recovery from her injuries; further commends Plan's Because I am a Girl campaign to end gender discrimination in education; congratulates Malala on leading the first ever youth takeover of the United Nations General Assembly in New York city on 12 July 2013, her 16th birthday; welcomes 12 July as Global Malala Day; and wishes Malala the very best on her 16th birthday.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Andrew Stephenson08/07/2013PendleConservativeProposed
Margaret Ritchie08/07/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell08/07/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Connarty08/07/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan08/07/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley08/07/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George08/07/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon09/07/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Julian Lewis09/07/2013New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell09/07/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin10/07/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/07/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/07/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock10/07/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn10/07/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/07/2013GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea10/07/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/07/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/07/2013North DownIndependentSigned
David Simpson10/07/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Meale11/07/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff15/07/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne16/07/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim McGovern16/07/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/07/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin Barron17/07/2013Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell17/07/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Weatherley02/09/2013HoveConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy11/09/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds29/10/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.